Auckland Regionals South/East (Junior)

Wednesday 31 July 2024
09:00 AM - 02:15 PM
    This is an invitation-only event for qualifiers of Auckland cluster events.  It is a Junior tournament and is open to Year 1 - 6 students and includes qualifiers from the following clusters: Flat Bush/East Tamaki/Manurewa, Weymouth/Wattle Downs, Otahuhu/Mangere, Papatoetoe/Otara/Manukau, Howick/Pakuranga, Papakura/Clevedon/Beachlands, Pukekohe / Waiuku / Pokeno


    • Registration is done via the Tornelo system.
    • See the REGISTERING YOUR TEAM TUTORIAL for assistance with registering players.
    • All entries MUST be entered at least three working days before the event.
    • NOTE:  Some venues have maximum capacities.  The sooner you enter, the better your chances are of not missing out.

    If you are stuck, email or for urgent help, txt 021 0271 5577.

     Entering and Naming Teams
    • Team names should include the full name of your school.
    • If entering multiple teams in the same age division, use a letter suffix for each team (A, B, C, D etc). Note: A letter suffix is only required if entering multiple teams in the same division.
    • Some example team names; "Ridges School A", "Ridges School B", "Thomas College", "Fairfield Intermediate School A" - The word "school" is not required.
    • Note: Players entered in the Rookies division should also have the full name of your school in the team name. They do not play as part of a team, however on occasion we may need to move them into the Junior division and it is helpful to have their team name.

    Entry Fees

    • Host Schools $6 per player
    • Decile 1 & 2 Schools $11 per player
    • Decile 3 & 4 Schools $16 per player
    • Decile 5 & 6 Schools $22 per player
    • Decile 7-10 Schools $27 per player
    We will invoice you after tournament completion based on the number of students that attend. Please do not bring payment on the day.
    All fees inclusive of GST.
    7 Round Swiss. 15 minutes per player. Refer to our Regionals FAQ - Format for more details.
    Further details
    • Designed for new players and experienced alike.
    • All the rules are described before the tournament starts.  Please make sure to read the Regionals FAQs.
    • A minimum of four players is required up to a maximum of 10 players. The more that enter the stronger your school team.
    • Each school must provide parents or teachers (minimum 1 per each 15 students) who are responsible for supervision of participants for the duration of the event. See the Terms & Conditions page for more information.
    • The top 5 schools will qualify for the Chess Power Nationals. If less than 10 schools enter the event, the number of schools divided by 2 and rounded down will qualify. e.g. 7 schools registered - top 3 will qualify. 8 schools registered - top 4 will qualify. See the Prizes page to get a better understanding of which teams & students qualify for the Chess Power Team Nationals and the Chess Power Champions Trophy.
    If you haven't experienced a Chess Power event before, check out our video footage of a recent event we held.


    The schedule for the day is as follows:

    Please aim to arrive before 8:45am for check-in

    Check In / Arrival    
    8:30am - 9:00am
    9:00am - 9:30am
    Prize Giving / Farewell
    1:30pm - 2:15pm

      Venue: Baverstock Oaks School

      21 Baverstock Road
      Flat Bush
      Auckland 2016

      Phone: 09 278 6741

      Make an Enquiry


      Back to all events

      © Copyright Chess Power Ltd - Site map
      Phone: 0800 424 377 New Zealand

      Edit Website